Sunday Competitions Results 2023

Bass Mixed Doubles 23 April

Won by Jane Donovan and Dave Porter.

Howe/Brine Scramble  (Coronation)7 May

Dave Porter and Michele Purnell ‘crowned’ as our very own King and Queen.

Our ladies runner-up was Karen Bloomfield, our men’s runner-up prize being shared between Dave Rogerson and Syd Cook.

Chris Newton Singles 28 May

Won by Sue Rogerson, beating Michele Purnell in the final.

Thwaites Pairs 18 June

The winners this year, Jane Donovan and Steve Firth. Congratulations to both and thank you to everyone who took part,

Webb/Ladies Merit 9 July

Unfortunately, due to absolutely horrendous rain, both Merits had to be called off after the semifinal stage, leaving both finals to be played on a new date.
The Ladies Merit was played August 6th alongside the Presidents Trophy

Sue Rogerson and Michele Purnell contesting the final, with Sue winning the trophy. Congratulations to both Sue and Michele. The Men’s Webb Merit final is still to be played between Gary Cook and Mike Pearson.(the same finalists as the Presidents Trophy!)

Millennium Pairs 23 July

Finally played August 13th due to previous bad weather. Won by Jon Prosser and Andy Maddock with Sue and Dave Rogerson being the runners-up.

President’s Trophy 6 Aug

The final was contested between Mike Pearson and Gary Cook, with Mike claiming the trophy . Congratulations to both finalists, and thank you to everyone who took part or helped on the day.

Rex & Carol Scramble 27 Aug

The Ladies winner was Sue Rogerson, with Vera Ormerod as runner-up. The Men’s winner was Mike Pearson, with Dave Rogerson as runner-up.

Ladies Picnic Cup Played at The Park Club Cleveleys

This took place at Park Club, Cleveleys  The Competition was won by Elizabeth Farrell and Anne Fletcher.

Vets Singles 10 Sept

This was scheduled for Sunday, 10th September, but unfortunately had to be cancelled after the initial rounds due to inclement weather and the bowling green becoming unplayable. Sadly, it was not possible to rearrange an alternative date, due to the lateness in the season.

Dickinson / Billington Scramble 24 Sept

This was played on Sunday 24th September. The Ladies winner was Gillian Shimwell, with Shirley Donovan and Shirley Nicholson as joint runners-up. The Men’s winner was David Royle, with Dave Porter as runner-up. Congratulations to everyone, and it was really pleasing to see two ‘new’ competition winners.
Many thanks to everybody who helped on the day, on both the organisation and the catering fronts.